The Winning Setup: Brett Rumford at the World Super 6 Perth

"I'm back and can't be happier."

These were the words of Titleist Brand Ambassador Brett Rumford (Pro V1x), who captured the European Tour's inaugural World Super 6 title in wire-to-wire fashion, culminating with a 2 and 1 championship victory in his native Perth, Australia.

The event consisted of 54 holes of stroke play with the top 24 players advancing to 6-hole match play matches on the final day.

It was fitting that Rumford was crowned the champion since he was atop the leaderboard for all three stroke play rounds, topping the field by a commanding five shots after 54 holes, and earning a bye into Sunday's six-hole knockout match play format.

The local favorite topped three players to reach the final, including Titleist Brand Ambassador Wade Ormsby (New Pro V1x) and Titleist golf ball loyalist Adam Bland (New Pro V1x), while Bland beat Jason Scrivener (Pro V1x) to claim third place.

"All I can say it has been a really, really tough week," Rumford said after claiming vitory. "It was a unique challenge in trying to win a golf championship and feeling that same emotions, tension and pressure for six holes in four straight matches."

The marks the the sixth career European Tour title for Rumford, who last won the China Open in 2013.

Congratulations, Brett!


Let's take a closer look at the equipment that Brett Rumford trusted this week in Perth.

Golf Ball: Titleist Pro V1x

Driver: 917D2 (9.5°)

Fairway: 917F3 (15°)

Irons: 716 T-MB (2-3), 716 CB (4-5), 716MB (6-9)

Wedges: Vokey Design SM6 pitching (46.08 F-grind), gap (52.08 F-grind) and lob (60.08 M-grind)

Putter: Scotty Cameron Futura X prototype



 Titleist was the overwhelming field favorite in golf balls at the World Super 6 Perth with 125 players trusting a Pro V1 or Pro V1x, more than 10 times the nearest competitor with 12.

Rumford’s win was the sixth by Titleist golf ball loyalists through the first nine events of the European Tour’s 2016-17 season.

He follows Fabrizio Zanotti (New Pro V1x), Jeung-hun Wang (Pro V1x), Tommy Fleetwood (New Pro V1x), Graeme Storm (New Pro V1x) and Brandon Stone (New Pro V1) into the Titleist winners’ circle on the European Tour.