New 2019 Rules

Follow Thread

By Richard A

  • 0 Likes
  • 2 Replies
  1. Richard A

    Richard A
    St Neots, Cambs

    Hi I'm after a precise answer to this question please. In my last club championship I accidentally moved my ball on the fairway while brushing away some debri around my ball. The ball moved approx 4 inches at a right angle, I continued playing the ball as it lie under 2 shot penalty. I later found out that I should of replaced it to it's original spot and then played it under penalty. Because I played it from the wrong pkace I was disqualified. My question is that under the new rules if when in the rough I accidentally move my ball I can replace it without penalty, the same applies when on the green, also if I hit my ball on to a different fairway and someone else picks it up I can replace it as close as possible to it's original spot without penalty. I can't find anything in the new rules where this would apply if I was to accidentally move my ball on the fairway. This rule doesn't seem to make sense your thoughts would be most appreciated.

  2. Frank P

    Frank P
    Port St. Lucie, FL

    I have a copy of the 2019 rules and it states under rule 9.4a " If you or your caddie lift your ball at rest or cause it to move, your ball must be replaced on it's original spot." 9.4b " If you lift or deliberately touch your ball at rest or cause it to move, you get one penalty stroke." So there is no change for a ball in the fairway. If you are searching for a ball in the rough and you accidentally move it, you may replace it under rule 7.4. Most of the rule exceptions for 2109 have to do with keeping play moving.
  3. Wade W

    Wade W
    Roanoke, VA

    Pretty sure it's still a penalty in the fairway.

    Gonna be lots of confusion in 2019...there are at least ten changes that will impact almost every foursome in every round!

    WW

Please login to post a comment.

Sign In

Haven't registered for Team Titleist yet?

Sign Up